And so it begins

My journey to independence

I’m Melissa. I’m 45 and I have the most extraordinary son. His name is Ethan. He’s autistic. But truth be told I’m not sure I’d have him any other way. He’s amazing.
I’m married but my husband abandoned us about 8 months ago. He was having an affair and finally decided, that existence appealed to him more than life with us. Things weren’t perfect with us, but total abandonment is a bit drastic. Well I thought it was. Plus for the first 2 weeks I had no idea where he was. There was no contact at all. At one point, my son thought his Dad was dead. This is what my life was like for awhile. But with the help of my wonderful family and fantastic friends I managed to pull through it. So did my son. We are both much better now.
This is my journey to independence.

My son & meSupporting independence

I’m Melissa. I’m 45. I’m an American living in Edinburgh, Scotland. I’m actively campaigning for a Yes vote for Scottish independence in September. I believe strongly that the people of Scotland should fully govern themselves. They should have complete control over all their revenue and tax making decisions. I doubt it will be perfect and perhaps mistakes will be made but in the long run, Scotland a new nation, will be better and stronger.
This is my journey to independence.

I hope through this blog, I can fully explore my independence journeys for myself and my adopted country. I can’t promise it will always be the most compelling voyage, but if you’re interested I would love for you to join me on the ride.

Standard

3 thoughts on “And so it begins

  1. margaret says:

    very happy to read your blog Melissa! There is so much to life and you are a great person to tell about your experiences. Not just as a mom or a wife but as a human, a woman, a thoughtful observer of humanity. Cast a wide net, darling. You’re going to be great.

    Like

  2. It will no doubt be very therapeutic for you to write this blog, and hopefully, others will be helped by your candor and insights. You are well on your way to “recovery”. Just keep doing what you’re doing and never lose sight of the end result.

    Like

Leave a comment